The Best Zombie Movies

I thought I’d make a post about the Zombie movies that I personally enjoyed most in my life. If you think I forgot something, please let me know in the comments and maybe I’ll add it!

Dawn of the Dead (2004)

A nurse, a policeman, a young married couple, a salesman, and other survivors of a worldwide plague that is producing aggressive, flesh-eating zombies, take refuge in a mega Midwestern shopping mall. The Movie is full of humor and fast gut ripping Zombies. Enjoy.

Dawn of the Dead (2004) Trailer

Dawn of the dead (2004) Full movie

I am Legend

Years after a plague kills most of humanity and transforms the rest into monsters, the sole survivor in New York City struggles valiantly to find a cure. This movie is technically about Zombies, but a mix between Zombies and Vampires I think. It does give the same feeling and thrill that a Zombie movie does and surviving in an infected world. This is maybe one of my favorite movies ever.

I am Legend Trailer

Shaun of the Dead

A man decides to turn his moribund life around by winning back his ex-girlfriend, reconciling his relationship with his mother, and dealing with an entire community that has returned from the dead to eat the living. A fun movie with lots of humor.

Shaun of the dead Trailer

The Resident Evil Series

A special military unit fights a powerful, out-of-control supercomputer and hundreds of scientists who have mutated into flesh-eating creatures after a laboratory accident.A special military unit fights a powerful, out-of-control supercomputer and hundreds of scientists who have mutated into flesh-eating creatures after a laboratory accident. A very good series of movies. There are a total of 6 movies at the moment. You will love them all.

Resident Evil (2002) trailer

Zombieland

A shy student trying to reach his family in Ohio, and a gun-toting tough guy trying to find the Last Twinkie and a pair of sisters trying to get to an amusement park join forces to travel across a zombie-filled America. Definitely also one of my all time favorite Movies.

Zombieland Trailer

28 Days later

Four weeks after a mysterious, incurable virus spreads throughout the UK, a handful of survivors try to find sanctuary.

28 Days later trailer

The Walking Dead

This maybe is not a movie, but it is the best show I have ever seen in my life. It makes me want a Zombie Apocalypse to actually happen, how sick that might even sound..

The Walking Dead trailer

I hope you enjoyed this post and as always: Support me by liking me onΒ Facebook, let me know what you think in the comments &Β happy surviving!

38 thoughts on “The Best Zombie Movies

  1. Okay, so any girl that loves zombies is okay in my book, but i feel like your missing some really great movies off your list… Some are almost unforgivable! But if the pic at the top of this article is you in zombie drag?… Heck, nothing is unforgivable! Baby, you’re hot, even as an ice cold corpse! Anyway, I wanted to share with you probably my favorite zombie movie of all time, although some purists might not consider it “true zombie” flick for the lack of dying, and coming back to life, (even though one could argue the infected didn’t necessarily die in WWZ… They just became zombies 12 seconds after receiving a bite). And while I’m not interested in homocidal maniacs, and calling them zombies, 28 Days filled every bit of my zombie yearnings as say the remake of Dawn of The Dead, even though they didn’t come back from the dead. I think my standards for what is a zombie became broader, when movie makers, game producers and authors, in the last couple of decades, began to introduce the idea of a “zombie virus”.

    Anyway, blah blah blah…

    The movie I invite all zombie fans to check out is Ponty Poole. It is incredibly clever… Ingenious in its plot, and exceptionally creative in the means of how this… thing is spread. And it delivers in that rare way, that which only a handful of movies can lay claim on. That of being unbelievably funny at points, and nightmarishly terrifying at others. I believe the author of the book, (for which the movie was based upon) also did the screenplay, and has a small but hilarious part as a community actor/director, who is putting on a musical based on the life of Osama bin-Ladin. The guys name is Tony Burgess, and my only hope is that he gets the opportunity to make another zombie flick at some point.

    I’d like to end my rather lengthy endorsement, by mentioning 1 last thing. We zombie fans have a very small pool of truly great zombie flicks, that are so good, that we can say, “This is a GREAT MOVIE, and it has zombies in it!” and not just, “This is a great movie because it has zombies in it!” Still, we love our genre, and not unlike a lot of sci-fi fans, we can be very forgiving of our movies, because there are so few, (good or bad) that we have to choose from… Anyway, ever so often, i do a search for “The Best Zombie movies”. You know,… in case I’ve missed something recently. Well, when I came across Ponty Poole, and I read the description I thought, “Are you kidding me??? This sounds awful!” But as I said, we can be forgiving of our beloved genre, and I figured this would be one of those times. I love this movie, and I think that says a lot, when I went in to it ready to hate it. Without trying to sound like an endorsement, I’m pretty sure it’s available on Netflix… CHECK IT OUT TONIGHT!… If you dare. Mwahahaha!!!

    Like

    1. I agree that 28 days isn’t a true zombie film, but I think it deserves an honorable mention simply because it was one of the early leaders of the modern zombie era. I don’t recall many aggressive zombies prior to it.

      Like

  2. Great list…But no zombie movie list can be complete without the original Night of the Living Dead. There have been scores of remakes and variations, but the first one is a classic that set the stage for all the rest. …

    I also like the Return of the Living Dead movies, especially the first one. Hilarious spoof on zombie movies.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. No “World War Z”? It was actually one of the most compelling and thrilling zombie movies to date. We don’t stand a chance if we’d have those kinds of zombies in an apocalypse.. πŸ˜€ And “I Am Legend?” Definitely!

    Like

      1. Whaaaat? You should watch it and DONT READ REVIEWS before you. Let yourself be surprised as Im sure you’ll be. Also, get yourself away from anything breakable #justatip πŸ˜€

        Like

  4. Funny blog, i watched American doomsday preppers the other day … Someone was actually preppng for a zombie attack !!!!! Bloody yanks!!!
    Im a big fan of the apocalypse films – stay away from this one – cockneys versus zombies

    It smells bad!
    Wheres Bob? You missed the best film of the lot day of the dead 1985!!!

    Like

  5. You’ve got a few decent movies here. Check out Dellamorte Dellamore or Cemetery Man, Zombie 2, and how is it you don’t have Dead Alive on here?

    I’m sort of amazed that people include I Am Legend on a list of zombie movies since it’s not actually about zombies. It’s about mutated vampires. It’s a great apocalypse movie but there isn’t a single zombie in the whole movie.

    Like

  6. Forgot about “Warm Bodies” – very cool movie too. I’m a HUGE “Walking Dead” fan – comics and series (am busy collecting the action figures too). Love “Shaun of the Dead” (my fiance’s favourite movie). Only one on your list I’m not too crazy about is “I Am Legend” – mainly cos I read the book the weekend before it came out and it kinda blew my mind, so I had very high expectations for the film. O, and “Fido” is worth a look as well if you haven’t seen it.

    Like

  7. I love zombieland and I usually love zombie moveis but I can’t come at walking dead at all I’ve tried to watch it a few times and I just get bored at the samish type of survival scenario, the whole cop thing and evil adversary.

    Like

  8. I agree you should see Dead Snow. I quite liked Warm Bodies, just because it does something different. Is Pontypool a zombie film? If not it’s close enough that you should see it. Oh, and the Rec trilogy – love those films!

    Like

  9. Some great Zombie films on your list, I really like Shaun of the Dead, and 28 Days Later, as well. I agree, The Walking Dead is a brilliant show, can’t wait to see the rest of Season 4!

    Like

Leave a Comment

